Salsa Fresca is a Steal

If you go to Marist College and you are looking for a cheap lunch… you NEED to make your way across the street to Salsa Fresca.

Salsa Fresca is a Mexican grill that has a widespread of locations throughout New York State. They are very comparable to a Moe’s or Chipotle. Salsa Fresca recently opened a new location at 3434 North Road in Poughkeepsie, NY, basically touching the Marist Campus.

I went for the first time last Friday night with my friends. It was out of this world. And a good deal!

The place is always busy and filled with college students. We walked in and waited online for about 5-10 minutes which was pretty fast considering how long the line was.

They had a ton of options. There were salads, burritos, tacos, bowls, or nachos. I opted for the burrito bowl. I chose to get their special rice which was definitely very flavorful and had a lot of Mexican spices. I also was able to combine chicken and grilled veggies into one bowl. In terms of toppings, I am someone that just throws em all on. Here is some of what I added:

Corn

Lettuce, tomatos, onions

Cheese (Spicy queso or shredded)

Beans (black or refried)

Guacamole or sliced avocado

Variety of salsa and dressings

Overall, my bowl was awesome. It probably weighed like 5 pounds, but definitely a lot for a little $$. Portion size is awesome and it can definitely be saved to eat for another meal. The bowl is either served to stay or to go. Chips and homemade salsa are also included!

My total came to around $8.00 and that included a huge scoop of guac.

While I was eating, I saw a poster for a week-day lunch special for students. For only $5, you can choose between the salad, burrito, bowl, or taco! This is a deal you can’t pass up. It is available Mon-Thurs from 2:00-4:00 p.m. Yes the timing isn’t ideal, but you can save it later for dinner!

Leave a comment