Orangetheory Review

America has really tuned up its workout culture in the past decade. New workout studios are popping up everywhere. In an effort to get fit during the holidays, I signed up for a unlimited monthly membership at Orangetheory Fitness.

There are a variety of plans to choose from such as: 4 classes per month, 8 classes per month, or unlimited classes per month. I did the unlimited plan for $159 ($10 off with the student-deal). Personally, this was the best use of money for me as I attended class 4 times a week which totals about $9-10 per class.

When registering to become a member, a trainer sat with me to discuss my fitness goals and reason for joining Orangetheory. This was really helpful because it helped outlay a clear mission with periodic goals. The trainer then took me into the studio and showed me how to use the rower and adjust speed on the treads.

The classes consist of 2G or 3G (G standing for groups). The 2G class is usually smaller as there is always one of the three stations unoccupied. You can sign up for classes via the Orangetheory app.

Before class, the trainer will explain what type of day it is. For example, the workout could be based on endurance, strength, or power. The trainer will then go through the workout as well as refresh on the different zones.

Orange theory is an interval based workout that measures your heart rate throughout the class. There are three zones you can be in: green, orange, and red. The higher up you go, the more calories you will burn. There is a screen that will project your heart-rate and zone so that you can see it while you are working out. This is all measured by a band you can buy through Orangetheory. (If you already have a Fitbit or an apple-watch those will work fine, too).

You can choose what station you start at. Personally, I like to get the running part out of the way first. I always start on the treadmill and proceed to the rower and then the floor.

For people that have no idea what they are doing at the gym… Orangetheory is perfect for you. The trainer works with you the entire time. They tell you when to turn up the speed on the treadmill, how to properly row, demonstrate the floor workout, etc. It is also very individualized and I often forget I am working out with a bunch of strangers.

Every class, it shows how many calories each person has burned. I have never seen someone finish the class with less than 400 calories burned. I have even seen a max of 800 in only an hour!

The class is really what you make of it. I have gained a lot of muscle and was able to keep off the holiday weight. Classes are fun to take with friends and you also can meet a lot of people through the program. The upbeat ambiance of the studio in addition to the motivational trainers and fun remixes really helps you forget you are even working out!

Leave a comment