Oh My Bonsai

Okay my friends let me tell you about the best happy-hour in town. And I am NOT talking about drinks.

My friends and I are huuuuge sushi girls and we were looking up decent places to get some in the Hudson Valley. We were out shopping at Marshall’s and there was conveniently a cute place across the street, Bonsai.

We walked in and were greeted with a happy smile and sheets of paper…. We were all pretty confused, but took the paper and sat down. The waiter explained to us that we were eligible to order sushi on the happy-hour menu. He explained that were could get hand-rolls and select appetizers for only $3. My jaw literally dropped.

I am not wayyyy into the crazy, deluxe rolls that have 8 fish and caviar on top. I’m a pretty simple girl and I pretty much order the same thing every time. Salmon avocado roll and spicy tuna roll.

My friends and I analyzed the paper and started checking away. We all ordered appetizers which were delicioussss. I tried Gyoza which is pretty much a dumpling that you can get fried or steamed, with pork in the middle. My other friends ordered edamame and shumai which I will definitely try next time.

Before I could even finish my appetizer the sushi was ready. I was pretty surprised by the timing, but happy to eat. I was thinking the rolls would be on the smaller side because of the amazing price… but boy was I wrong.

I ended up getting three perfectly sized hand-rolls. (I promised myself I would limit it to two next time) They were great, the spicy tuna had an added crunch to it that I really liked. The avocado was a perfect ripe and the fish tasted really fresh. I even tried a sweet-potato tempura roll which was out of this world.

When it was time for the check, I started to brace myself. Then I realized it was $13. $13 for 3 hand rolls and an appetizer. Lets put this into perspective people; a deluxe roll at most places cost even more than my 18 piece sushi meal!!!!

You can obviously tell how happy I am about finding Bonsai and I will definitely be spreading the word.

Go try!

Leave a comment